zondag 8 februari 2009

The Law Faculties Hosting the ELMC: An Introduction (4)

Bangor University (Prifysgol Bangor), School of Law

A. The City:
Bangor is a small city in the county of Gwynedd (North Wales). although it does not have an abundance of attractions, it is a picturesque place offering views over the Menai Strait (especially attractive at sun-set), and also serves as a convenient base for visiting the nearby Snowdonia National Park. One of the University's key selling-points is indeed its location between Snowdonia and the island of Anglesey.

With a population of only around 14,000 (students included: 24,000) , Bangor is one of the UK's smallest cities. However, as a bustling university town, the city is not lacking in cafes and restaurants and enjoys a vibrant night life.

B. The University:

B.1 History:
Until 1 September 2007 the University was part of the federal University of Wales, and was officially known for most of its history as the University College of North Wales ("UCNW", Coleg Prifysgol Gogledd Cymru in Welsh). It later became "University College, Bangor" ("UCB", Coleg y Brifysgol, Bangor). From 1995 until 31 August 2007 the University was known as "University of Wales, Bangor" ("UWB") and Prifysgol Cymru, Bangor ("PCB").

The change of name to Bangor University or Prifysgol Bangor was instigated by the University following the decision of the University of Wales to change from a federal university to a confederal, non-membership organisation, and the granting of degree awarding powers to Bangor University itself. The University has, however, decided not to take advantage of these powers and will continue to award degrees in the name of the University of Wales for the time being

The University was founded as the "University College of North Wales" on 18 October 1884 with an inaugural address by the Earl of Powis in Penrhyn Hall, there was then a procession to the college with 3,000 quarryman (quarrymen from Penrhyn Quarry and other quarries had subscribed over £1200 to the university).
The University was originally based in an old coaching inn called the Penrhyn Arms Hotel (which housed its 58 students and 12 teaching staff), but in 1911 it moved to a much larger new building which is now the old part of the Main Arts Building.
Its students received degrees from the University of London until 1893 when UWB became a founding constituent institution of the federal University of Wales.
In 2007, the University became an autonymous institution, albeit with degrees still being validated by the University of Wales.

B.2 School of Law
The School of Law at Bangor University is Wales’ newest law school. Established in 2004 in response to the high demand for Law provision in north Wales, the School receives great support from the region's legal profession, which has many advantages for students following law at Bangor.
The School is modern, small and friendly. The staff consists of a team of experienced, enthusiastic multilingual
staff who have taught in the UK and Europe and this experience is reflected in the teaching programme at Bangor. The aim is to provide a range of up to date undergraduate degrees that match demand among prospective students. The School of Law also offers a range of postgraduate degrees.
The content of the undergraduate curriculum and the department’s
research interests reflect the commitment to the international dimension of law and legal practice in the modern world.
The Law School has a strong
bilingual policy with tutorials in all of the foundation subjects required for a qualifying law degree
being available in either English or Welsh at the individual student’s choice.

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten